Mr Olympia Winners Till Date

The Mr. Olympia is one of the world’s most prestigious and well-known bodybuilding competitions. It is an annual event organized by the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness (IFBB) and is typically held in the United States.

The first Mr. Olympia was held on September 18, 1965, at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, New York City, with Larry Scott winning his first of two straight titles.

The competition brings together the world’s top professional bodybuilders to compete for the title of Mr. Olympia.

The Mr. Olympia competition is divided into categories: Men’s Open Bodybuilding, Classic Physique, and others.

The most famous and coveted title is the Men’s Open Bodybuilding, where competitors showcase their muscular development, symmetry, and overall physical condition.

The winner of this category is crowned Mr. Olympia and is considered the reigning bodybuilding champion for that year.

Winning the Mr. Olympia title is a significant achievement in bodybuilding, and it often represents the pinnacle of a bodybuilder’s career. Bodybuilders like Arnold Schwarzenegger, Ronnie Coleman, and Jay Cutler have all achieved legendary status by winning the Mr. Olympia multiple times.

The competition showcases the incredible dedication, hard work, and discipline required to achieve and maintain a world-class physique.

List of Mr Olympia Winners

The Mr Olympia winners are listed below.

  1. Larry Scott (1965-1966): Larry Scott, the inaugural Mr. Olympia, was celebrated for his groundbreaking arm development. His unique training techniques, particularly the Scott Curl, helped him build his legendary biceps. Despite his strengths in arms and symmetry, his overall muscle definition was considered less impressive than future champions​.
    Larry Scott
  2. Sergio Oliva (1967-1969): Sergio Oliva, known as “The Myth,” was distinguished by his extraordinary muscle mass and iconic V-taper. He was a trailblazer in bodybuilding, setting new standards for size during the late 1960s. However, his symmetry was not as pronounced as his mass​.
    Sergio Oliva
  3. Arnold Schwarzenegger (1970-1975, 1980): Arnold Schwarzenegger, one of the most famous bodybuilders of all time, was known for his impressive chest, arms, and symmetry. His bodybuilding success paved the way for a career in acting and politics. Schwarzenegger’s influence extended beyond the stage, notably establishing the Arnold Classic​.
    Arnold Schwarzenegger
  4. Franco Columbu (1976, 1981): Franco Columbu, a close friend and training partner of Schwarzenegger, was renowned for his deep, striated chest. Despite his smaller stature, he excelled in the lightweight division and made a notable comeback to win his second title in 1981 after a four-year break due to injury​.
    Franco Columbu
  5. Frank Zane (1977-1979): Frank Zane epitomized the aesthetic physique, winning three consecutive titles despite competing in the lighter-weight division. Known for his V-shaped torso and small waist, Zane was a master of physique and aesthetics, focusing on achieving physical perfection​.
    Frank Zane
  6. Chris Dickerson (1982): Chris Dickerson was a trailblazer as the first openly gay and African American Mr. Olympia. Known for his balanced physique, especially his leg development, Dickerson won his only Mr. Olympia title in 1982 and later won the 1994 Masters Olympia​.
    Chris Dickerson
  7. Samir Bannout (1983): Samir Bannout, “Lion of Lebanon,” was the first Middle Eastern bodybuilder to win Mr. Olympia. Known for his impressive back development, Bannout won the title in 1983, marking a shift from the Golden Era of bodybuilding​.
    Samir Bannout
  8. Lee Haney (1984-1991): Lee Haney, a dominant force in bodybuilding, won eight consecutive Mr. Olympia titles. Known for his mass and back development, Haney retired at 31 and used his expertise to train other athletes, including boxer Evander Holyfield​.
    Lee Haney
  9. Dorian Yates (1992-1997): Dorian Yates ushered in the “Era of Mass Monsters,” focusing on bulk size over aesthetics. Weighing 265 pounds on stage, he was known for his mass and definition, dominating the Mr. Olympia stage for six years​.
    Dorian Yates
  10. Ronnie Coleman (1998-2005): Ronnie Coleman, a former police officer, is one of the biggest bodybuilders in the history of the sport. His massive size and approachable demeanor made him a fan favorite. Coleman is known for his significant achievements and influence in bodybuilding.
    Ronnie Coleman
  11. Jay Cutler (2006-2007, 2009-2010): Jay Cutler’s rivalry with Ronnie Coleman defined a significant part of his early career, where Jay Cutler consistently placed second to Coleman from 2002 to 2005. His perseverance paid off when he finally won Mr. Olympia in 2006, toppling Coleman’s reign. Cutler’s wins in 2007, 2009, and 2010 solidified his legacy in the sport, demonstrating his resilience and determination​.
    Jay Cutler
  12. Dexter Jackson (2008): Dexter Jackson, known as “The Blade,” was celebrated for his outstanding definition, which set him apart from his competitors. In 2008, Jackson won Mr. Olympia, the Arnold Classic, and the Australian Pro Grand Prix in the same year, highlighting his versatility and consistency as a top-tier bodybuilder​.
    Dexter Jackson
  13. Phil Heath (2011-2017): Phil Heath, nicknamed “The Gift,” is known for his full-muscle bellies and symmetrical physique. His seven consecutive Mr. Olympia titles from 2011 to 2017 are a testament to his dominance in the sport. Heath’s ability to showcase his muscles effectively during competitions significantly impacted his consistent victories​.
    Phil Heath
  14. Shawn Rhoden (2018): Shawn Rhoden’s victory in 2018 was marked by his emphasis on aesthetics and proportion, which distinguished his physique. However, his career faced challenges due to legal issues, and he tragically passed away in 2021. Rhoden’s win remains a notable moment in Mr. Olympia’s history for emphasising a balanced build​.
    Shawn Rhoden
  15. Brandon Curry (2019): Transitioning from football to bodybuilding, Brandon Curry’s decision to focus on bodybuilding led to significant success, culminating in his Mr. Olympia win in 2019. Known for his impressive arms and upper body, Curry also won the Arnold Classic, showcasing his consistency and well-rounded physique​.
    Brandon Curry
  16. Mamdouh Elssbiay “Big Ramy” (2020-2021): Big Ramy, known for his immense size, made a significant impact with his wins in 2020 and 2021. Weighing nearly 300 pounds on competition day, he represented the super heavyweight category in bodybuilding, bringing a new level of muscularity to the stage​.
    Mamdouh Elssbiay
  17. Hadi Choopan (2022): Hadi Choopan’s win in 2022 was remarkable for his emphasis on aesthetics over sheer size. Competing in the open division despite being one of the smaller contestants, Choopan’s victory indicated a shift in the sport towards proportion and aesthetics, challenging the dominance of mass monsters​.
    Hadi Choopan
  18. Derek Lunsford (2023): Derek Lunsford’s win in 2023 highlighted the continued trend towards well-proportioned and balanced physiques. His achievement of winning titles in two separate divisions of Mr. Olympia showcased his versatility and commitment to excellence in bodybuilding.​
    Derek Lunsford

About Mikael Gomez

Mikael is a health nutrition expert and loves mountain biking. Mikael started his health product research journey in 2016 and still loves doing it. Apart from spending time on his study, research & literature, he plays basketball regularly and is a fitness freak. Follow Mikael on Linkedin